The Backyard Owl Journals

The Third Year 2023 What Surprises are Waiting?

Catch up on Year 1 and Year 2 to see how it all began.

As fall of 2022 approached, I waited anxiously to see if the owls would return to the nest box in my backyard. Would it be the same pair as last year, or a new pair? I might have been more observant this year, or November really is the time the owls begin thinking about choosing a nest site. I must have missed their return last year.

It was the second week of November when I looked out my window, and there in the entrance to the nest box sat a screech owl! Who was this? This owl was not gray. It was not pure red either. Depending on the light and shadows, this owl was a red morph, but had a heavy brown tone to the color. I have called this one, “Brown”.

Brown – Diane Cook fotos
Brown – Diane Cook fotos

Having learned that females do the incubating of eggs after she lays them, and that breeding season begins in March I think this owl is the male. He has arrived first, and waits for his mate. If my thinking is correct, a new owl should be seen in the box when March rolls around.

Through the winter it is still Brown I see sitting in the box. Then, right on time, the first week of March 2023 a new owl is in the box. I am even more convinced now that this is the female since they do the incubating and March is the beginning of nesting season. This owl is red, but looks to be a different bird from the previous 2 years. Of course, I still name her, “Red”.

Red – Diane Cook fotos

By April, Red is spending a bit more time outside the box. Is it crowded in there with owlets? I can’t wait to see.

The end of April and into May I am seeing Brown again. Just as I observed in previous years, the male seems to appear towards the end of the nesting season. It is his job to deliver prey to his mate and offspring. Does he take the time to rest in the box also? There is still no sign of owlets, so I wait.

Brown – Diane Cook Photos

Dawn Song, -Emily Dickinson

The birds begun at four o’clock—
     Their period for dawn—
     A music numerous as space
     And measureless as noon.

If you listen carefully to the birds, they will let you know what is going on in the neighborhood. The American Bird Conservancy has an interesting article about bird vocalizations. Songs are sung to attract mates and defend their territory. Shorter, to my ear at least, and more urgent sounds signal danger. The crows, blue jays, and robins frequently alert me to a raptor in the yard. They usually go quiet and disappear when the Coopers Hawk shows up. These hawks, after all, do hunt and eat birds. The Red-tailed and Red-shouldered Hawks, as well as the Bald Eagles get pestered unmercifully.

The morning of May 27th the robins were sounding the alarm. I heard the commotion and looked out the window. To my surprise and excitement, looking out of the box was the fuzzy head of an owlet! I never did see more than one at any given time. I am unsure of the number of young this year.

Diane Cook Photos

Two days later, just after 10 AM, the birds were sounding the alarm. They were not gathered around the box. Rather, they darted in and out of the spruce trees. I grabbed my camera and followed them to begin my search. Finding an owl, small or large, is not an easy task. They are masters of camouflage. Locating nothing, and convinced the birds lied to me I was ready to give up. One final glance above my head revealed what I hoped to find – an owlet! It was nestled in the branches of the spruce, its big eyes focused on me. It did not seem nervous, it just watched.

Diane Cook Photos

My long lens put me close to the young owl without physically closing the distance between us. I was ready to back away, when I caught sight of something else below the owlet. To my surprise, there sat Red! She was close to her offspring. Neither bird flushed or appeared nervous with my presence. They both just watched.

After taking a few shots, I was ready to leave. As I turned, something caught my eye in the branches nearby. Brown, sat watching me!

Brown – Diane Cook Photos

Later that same day, I saw Brown back in the box. More questions formed in my head. Was he with another of his young who had not yet fledged? Did the owlet in the spruce fly back to the box? The answers to those questions will not be disclosed to me. Just as in the past, despite my vigilant observing, I did not ever see the owls flying. Seeing prey delivered, exchanges of the adults inside the box, and the young fledging must have happened under the cover of dark. After all, these birds are most active at dawn, dusk, and during the night.

Brown – Diane Cook Photos

In all my observations this year, I only saw 1 owlet. It was a treat to have owls nesting inside the box for the third year in a row, and to see young again! Based on what I’ve observed matched with what I’ve researched, I am convinced the male is the first owl seen before March. Once March comes, and with it, the beginning of nesting season, the female lays her eggs and begins to incubate them. Even though these birds return to successful nest sites, I do believe this is the third pair I’ve had in this box. They do have a relatively short life span of 3-7 years. They are also predated by crows, great horned owls, and hawks, all occupying my yard and nearby woods.

Our yard must be a welcome habitat for the owls. The open woodlands are behind our property. We have trees, both deciduous and coniferous in the backyard to provide cover for the adults and owlets when they fledge. There is also plenty of open space for hunting birds, small mammals (mice, squirrels, rabbits), insects, frogs, and all critters that support the screech owl’s varied diet.

Diane Cook fotos

Another year with the owls came to a close shortly after spotting the family in the spruce. They have no sooner moved on when I start wondering if owls will return next year. All I can do is wait, hope, and remember to look out that window for the surprises nature will bring to my yard.

Photos

Photos are all my own, using a 600mm telephoto lens. I remain at a distance that does not disturb the birds, allowing them to go about their normal behavior. Normal behavior is when they ignore me, and go about their business. Most images are cropped with minor adjustments to lighten or darken it.

Resources

American Bird Conservancy

Audubon Society

Cornell Lab of Ornithology

About natureswindowblog

Lover of nature first, teacher second. I have taught elementary children in the public school system for 27 years, and am now retired. I have two sons who have grown into wonderful men. I live in the country with my husband and my dog, a goofy and lovable Norwegian Elkhound. While I love traveling, there is no place like home.
This entry was posted in birds, nature, wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment