Thoughts of Halloween

dsc_0132

 

“A drowsy, dreamy influence seems to hang over the land, and to pervade the very atmosphere. Some say that the place was bewitched by a high German doctor, during the early days of the settlement; others, that an old Indian chief, the prophet or wizard of his tribe, held his powwows there before the country was discovered by Master Hendrick Hudson.” -The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, Washington Irving

 

“Then, as he wended his way, by swamp and stream and awful woodland, to the farmhouse where he happened to be quartered, every sound of nature, at that witching hour, fluttered his excited imagination.”  -The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, Washington Irving

dsc_0079

It was a foggy and cool autumn morning. I had the day off, was excited to take camera in hand, and step out of nature’s window. Was it the fog that morning, the month, or both that made me think of dear Ichabod Crane?

Unlike Ichabod, I did not share his feeling of the awful woodland. I did feel as if in a dream, and thought the fog was like a blanket wrapping itself around me. Mysterious? Yes, but not foreboding. I waited with anticipation for what might reveal itself as the fog lifted and moved. It seemed to ebb and flow in rhythm with the river’s course. The sun found its way to the riverbank through tiny cracks in the fog and clouds, illuminating pockets of the scene before me.

dsc_0192

 

I was patient that morning, waiting for something to come into view. It was not my eyes, but my ears that first alerted me to the great company in which I was sharing. The fog had become thick again, and I lost sight of the details around me. That was when I heard the cries of the Bald Eagle. In the distance, through the fog, I could barely see an eagle flying parallel to the river. There was just enough clearing to allow me to follow its flight. I saw it land in a distant Sycamore tree. It landed beside what I believe to be its mate. Through my lens I could see it throw back its head as I heard the unmistakeable cries again. The trees along the riverbank were tall and thick. I was afraid the eagles would see me before I could see them as I attempted to get a bit closer. I was well hidden in the trees and brush when something caught my eye. It was one of the eagles. It flew almost directly overhead. What a comical sight I must have been, as I lifted my camera up, entangling the mono-pod in the brush. I prayed I got a shot. I had no time to check settings, I aimed, and began firing away.

I was pleased with the images captured that morning. Yes there is much skill involved in photography. It is also a test of patience with a bit of good luck thrown in. Soon after the adult flew past me, I spotted something flying out of the fog. I turned my camera and resumed shooting. I had one shot of the other adult. I could clearly see its white head. It wasn’t until I saw the photos on my computer, that I was able to see that I had also caught a juvenile in flight.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My patience was rewarded with the sighting of not one, but three Bald Eagles that morning! I wondered if it was a family from this year’s nesting season. If so, this juvenile is late in leaving its parents. The new season is soon to begin. Though egg laying takes place in February in my part of the world, the nesting pairs I observe, have already begun rebuilding the nest they used last year. The parents will not tolerate last year’s young when they are ready to begin the new laying season. Inspecting the photo more closely, this juvenile might even be a two year old. It looks as if the bill has some color to it. In the first year, it is still very brown. Could what I have heard been calls of alarm from the adults to scare away this youngster. I wonder where the juvenile will go. I do hope it keeps a distance between itself and the pair of adults as breeding season draws closer.

 

“As Ichabod jogged slowly on his way, his eye, ever open to every symptom of culinary abundance, ranged with delight over the treasures of jolly autumn.”  -The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, Washington Irving

dsc_0121

 

Resuming my trek back to the vehicle, I walked in and out of the fog, heading toward the sun trying to break free of this misty haze. My mind again wandered back to Ichabod Crane and his tale of the supernatural. The fog does present an other worldly appearance. Spiders spent a busy night weaving their webs, that by morning’s light, exposes a shroud encircling skeletons of summer’s growth now gone to seed.

dsc_0134

 

Heavy dew, remnants of the fog, cling to the tiny branches and glisten like jewels as the sun’s rays hit it. I do admire these tiny gems.

 

 

 

 

dsc_0119

 

This is the time of year when the last of the warmth disappears. The harvest is over, the gardens trimmed back and fields plowed under, waiting for next year to begin. It seems the world outside my nature’s window is tucking itself in, and readying itself for the cold, dark winter days ahead.

It is easy to understand the ways of the ancient Celts, as they celebrated the festival of Samhain on October 31st. This marked the beginning of their new year. The trees drop all their leaves and the growing season is over. It does appear as if all the natural world is dying, and entering into the darker half of the year. We, armed with the knowledge of science, understand the cycle of life. To these ancient people who did not possess such facts, it was the time of year to light their bonfires and make sacrifices to the spirits who entered their world on that night. This ritual would ensure their survival of and offer protection from the upcoming winter.

 

The Harvest Moon rose and faded. October brought a super Hunter’s Moon. There’s a chill in the air and the trees are almost bare. Halloween draws closer, and we enter the last stages of autumn. The fire is lit in the woodstove, and I sit under my fleece blanket. On the night of October 31st, don’t forget to peer out of your nature’s window. Perhaps you will catch a glimpse of the spirits as they enter this world to make their mischief, or maybe they will approach your door seeking a trick or treat. Happy Halloween!

 

References

History of Halloween

Samhain

Bald Eagle Information

Full Moons

About natureswindowblog

Lover of nature first, teacher second. I have taught elementary children in the public school system for 27 years, and am now retired. I have two sons who have grown into wonderful men. I live in the country with my husband and my dog, a goofy and lovable Norwegian Elkhound. While I love traveling, there is no place like home.
This entry was posted in autumn, bald eagles, holidays, nature, seasons, traditions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts of Halloween

  1. Love how you use your pictures intertwined with your story. Nice work!

    Like

Leave a comment